• Download the One-Sheet

• Download the Press Release

• Download the Album Cover

New Release for 2014

For Us, The Living is an effort to honor tradition by focusing on looking toward the future. All of the compositions recorded on this album were written by living American composers.

The title comes from President Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address of 1863. Lincoln's speech urged Americans to appreciate, honor and respect the unsung and fallen heroes, and to further their unfinished work to usher in a new era. 2013 marked the 150th anniversary of the Address and so it seemed a fitting title for an album featuring living American composers, and carrying on the tradition of those who came before.

This is my dedication to the musical giants upon whose shoulders I stand. Rather than re-interpret and re-perform their works, I want to extend the timeline of jazz with new compositions and performances by the best living composers and musicians today.

Featured Performers

  • Andrew Hadro - Baritone Saxophone & Flute
  • Daniel Foose - Acoustic Bass
  • Carmen Staaf - Grand Piano
  • Matt Wilson - Drums & Cymbals

    Recorded May 28th & 29th, 2013 At Stadium Red by Tyler McDiarmid
    Mixed and Mastered by Michael Perez-Cisneros
    Co-Produced by Julian Shore
    Artwork Images by Daniel Mottet
    © 2014 Hadro Music, All Rights Reserved.
  • Featured Composers

  • Andrew Hadro
  • (Tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 10)
  • Julian Shore
  • (Track 3)
  • Maria Schneider
  • (Track 7)
  • Ryan Anselmi
  • (Track 8)
  • James Davis
  • (Track 9)

  • Get a copy (released 4/1/2014)

  • Phyisical / CD:

  • Reviews

    DownBeat Editor's Pick - April 2014
    "The band assembled for this date is the musical equivalent of a great ensemble cast with Hadro on bari and occasionally flute, Daniel Foose on bass, Carmen Staaf on piano and Matt Wilson holding down the drum chair. No one dominates. No one is just cashing a check. The interplay of this group stands above any individual moments-but there are plenty of those, too.
    Hadro succeeds big time on For Us, The Living. He pays tribute to the history of improvised music by shining a spotlight on artists who are working on its next chapters right now."

    - Read the full review at DownBeat.com

    SomethingElseReviews.com - March 2014
    "That burly baritone sax, it can be an abrasive sound maker, but in the right hands it can be this warm, inviting sonority. The first thing noticeable about Andrew Hadro's baritone is that he caresses the big sax as lovingly as he's caressing melodies.
    Perhaps the best thing about For Us, The Living, however, is that it doesn't rely on solos to make it a success as the alluring set of straight jazz that it is. There's much to be said about heartfelt, soulful delivery and on that count, Andrew Hadro has said a mouthful."

    - Read the full review at SomethingElseReviews.com

    CriticalJazz.com - March 2014
    "If you don't know or better still understand history that you are doomed to remain isolated in the past. The unforgiving world of improvisational music is quick to honor those that have gone before while occasionally overlooking those that are charting a new harmonic path of least reistence. Andrew Hadro and For Us, The Living chronicles the musical vision of a rising star and gives keen insight into just where jazz may be heading."

    - Read the full review at CriticalJazz.com

    MidwestRecord.com - April 2014
    "First class sitting down jazz by a rising sax man that likes to go deep and serve up music that makes you think and feel."

    - Read the full review at MidwestRecord.com

    Join the mailing list:

    © 2014 Andrew Hadro
    Page built by HadroDesign